Haiku Deck-TED Talk Reflections

I was asked by my technology mentor, Jill Thompson, to write a Guest blog post on her blog, Inside The Classroom, Outside the Box.  She published my Guest blog post yesterday.  I am placing the link to her blog below because it explains a multi-week project that I did with my fourth and fifth graders whom I see once a week for 45 minutes either in their class with iPads or in our school’s computer lab.  This project was my first experience using Haiku Deck as an app on the iPads!

http://insidetheclassroomoutsidethebox.wordpress.com/author/insidetheclassroomoutsidethebox/

Students created Haiku Deck presentations during the past several weeks then presented them today using the TED Talk format.  After presenting in small groups, I directed students to go to my virtual classroom that I had created using t.socrative.com.  I have selected some of their comments and placed them below.  Collectively, they show that students LOVED this project.  I have not edited their comments below so there are plenty of misspellings, punctuation errors and capitalization errors.  Nonetheless, I was blown away by gathering feedback from students for the first time using an Open Ended Written Response Question in Socrative as my Exit Ticket.  

Here are their Reflections:

i liked it because it makes kids feel creative about sharing their ideas with others.

I love to see what other people thought of their subject even if i disagreed. It was also fun to perform our ted talk to the class and see if they were convinced or not and to see if they liked what we did! Other people had really convinced me to do what they think. I hope we can do it again this year.

I think that Haiku Deck is a good way to learn the reasons of different types of topics.I enjoyed to share in front of my classmates.I thought it would be embarassing to share ALL by MYSELF but actually it was NOT embarassing.My friends all did a very good job with their presentation.Haiku Deck is aswome

I really did like Ted Talk because they are trying to convince me to believe what they believe.Plus it was really fun

I liked going around the room seeing what people think.

It was fun because it was something new we did.It was also fun because people got to chose what they wanted.

I liked it because people liked our presentation. Most people picked yes on ours  we got one no but, that didn’t get me upset! Its always good to get a lot of yes’s than no’s!!!! We didn’t really get to plan what and how we were gonna say it but it all went well. My partner and I liked it I  think well I did!

I love the TED talk because I liked to talk,presenting,and working with my partner.It was very fun talking to other people and talking to new people.A lot people said yes execpt one no but it is ok!!!I love TED talk

i think mine was good but haiku deck is awsome it is alot of fun i wish we can do haiku deck in middle school

I enjoyed it because it lets you show your creativity. You also have fun with it. Some people were not persuaded but I still had fun and I will fix my mistakes next time.

I liked how it helped me be able to present by using 2 diffrent apps at the same time.

i liked how i could only use a certain amount of letters on each slide

I think it was amazing because you get to experss your self of what you think. 

I enjoyed making my point about why we should recycle. It was fun to make a Haiku Deck presentation and do a Ted Talk.

I enjoyed listening to other peoples presentation to see what they thought and me getting to say what I thought. And plus I think its pretty cool getting to share things by pictures.

What I like about the Ted Talk on Haiku Deck was you have to make your point in one or two words.Also when people were presenting there phrases underneath there big concept.

i thought it was cool to see what other people think about recess. we got all checks. this was so cool miss.Maples is the best  technology teacher EVER.these projects are so cool.she propaly has many more coming.i am starting to love it even more then ever.these are great learing projects that i have never done.

I liked that you get to see what other people created and what the topic they typed about.An other thing that I like about the TED talk was you got to write down if you where convinced or not.The pictures where also another thing that I liked.Also, Haiku Deck can help you convince people and it was nice learning how to use Haiku Deck.Thanks Mrs.Maples!

I LIKE HAIKU DECK BECAUSE YOU CAN CREATE OR SEE A PRESENTATION.ANOTHER THING I LIKE ABOUT HAIKU DECK IS YOU CAN TRY TO CONVINCE OTHER PEOPLE OF WHAT YOU THINK.WHAT I LEARNED IS HOW TO CONVINCE PEOPLE TO THINK HOW YOU THINK.

I enjoyed all the creativity my other classmates did. It was so fun looking at other peoples thoughts. I WAS SURPRISED AT HOW WELL OUR GROUP DID TOO!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

I did a presentaiton on why kids should get an allowance. But my favorite part was finding cool pictures and geting notes .I loved it !!!!!!!!!!!

i felt very joyful after everyone said it was good. it was very hard to gather notes and find the pictures, but i felt happy doing it.

I would love it if we could do some more projects/presentations on haiku deck!

I think this was really enjoyable experince because I got to convince my peers to go with my opinion, and create a really fun haikudeck.

I ENJOY MAKING A TED TALK BECAUSE I LOVE TALKING ABOUT I WANT TO WRIGHT ABOUT. I LOVE HAVING A TED TALK ABOUT THINGS I LOVE. MORE PEOPLE LIKE TO TALK TO MORE PEOPLE.

I really enjoyed haiku deck.I really enjoyed how you could display your ideas on different slides and present a ted talk on what you chose to do it on I really enjoyed what I did on haiku deck.

I really liked Haiku Deck.  I loved how we got to share our TED talks to our classmates.  I also learned that different people have different opinions, and that is okay. Having different ideas is what allows us to learn.  I learned allot from my classmates presentations.  I learned more about their topics and my classmates. 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Haiku Deck-TED Talk Reflections

Leave a Reply

