Room 302A

I am participating in Day 6 of the Slice of Life Writing Challenge where I am blogging every day during March.  Thanks to twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for giving bloggers this challenge!

Today was a milestone day for me.  Why?  Well, let’s just say that I achieved a goal that I had given myself.   I was notified in early December that I had been selected to be a presenter at the 2014 NCTIES Conference in Raleigh, NC.  Today was the day of my Presentation and from all indications, it went very well.

The Conference Coordinators had emailed stating that as many as 140 people could fit in my room.  As of last night, I saw that only around 40 people had joined my Edmodo group for the presentation.  I took my iPad and a borrowed laptop to my presentation room last night just to check and be sure that I could quickly hook up the cords to the right ports to take the stress off of me about the hardware working properly.  When I got to the room today, Room 302A, there were already a few people trickling in.  I hooked up the hardware, had a sound guy give me a microphone necklace and propped up books that I would reference.  Almost as if floodgates opened, a continuous flow of teachers entered the room filling every row.  Second by second I was feeling exhilarated while also feeling a bit shocked and happy with the turnout.  It made me feel so good to know that people had chosen my session out of many others occurring at 10:00, especially when I just had expected 40 people.  More and more teachers came down the aisle with around 20 sitting on the floor at the  front near me and a row of 20 standing in the back.  My heart fluttered.  After the time I had spent putting together my presentation using Haiku Deck, I wanted to deliver to my audience 45 minutes of my K-5 Technology Projects that I have done with my students.  With people standing in the doorway and in the hall trying to hear and see, I began my journey in Room 302A with around 180 eager educators!

I began my presentation with a special You Tube video that I just recently discovered.  It is called, “Obvious to You, Amazing to Others”.  It speaks to the fact that as teachers we sometimes don’t think that our ideas are all that unique at times.  Every other teacher is working hard and being the best them.  But, now, I am hoping that some of my ideas ignited a passion in my listeners.  They may have already known about my topic, but I would guess that there was something in my speech, in my Haiku Deck of slides or in the Google Drive Doc which I shared that resonated with the audience.  Based on the positive verbal comments after my presentation was over and throughout the day when seeing people in other sessions, I feel that it was a success.  I shared some digital projects that now seem obvious to me to do with children after doing Interactive Read Alouds with them, but these projects appeared to be new to 70% of the audience when I polled them.  What an honor it was to share with these dedicated educators who are passionate about implementing best practices in their schools!  My technology mentor, Jill Thompson, called me on Twitter a #ncties14 rock star!  I have reflected a lot about my talk and realize that I probably over planned, but judging from comments, I am pleased to say that I reached a milestone by accomplishing my goal.

I hope you will take a moment to watch the 2 minute video here:

With whom could you share this video to encourage them to take a leap of faith and share?

4 thoughts on “Room 302A

  1. I really enjoyed the video. It reminds me of an article I read about Impostor syndrome. Teachers often feel they don’t have something to contribute but we all have something valuable to give.

  2. Congratulations on your successful presentation. You should feel very good knowing that many teachers went back with ideas and inspiration. You make change happen.

Leave a Reply

