Rest and Refresh

This is Day 20 of the Slice of Life Writing Challenge by http://www.twowritingteachers.com.  I will let you know up front, that this post will not be tech infused.

It has been a good day.  Tiredness has washed over me at the end of the school day.  My feet hurt.  I could take a nap right now at 6:00 p.m.  Teaching all day can be exhausting especially when moving from room to room on a cart filled with iPads.  My classes were all wonderful, but I am tired from the day.

Now comes my evening.  I am excited to rest and refresh.  My poor foot is throbbing and wondering why I haven’t sat down for just a little bit today. I hope to let time off my feet heal me tonight.

When all of my qualities are added up, I’d like to think that I am a good teacher, but realize that I am not perfect.  As a teacher, I not only experience physical stress making my feet ache, but also emotional stress.  The teacher in me gives and gives, exhibits patience and more patience.  I know that I can’t have a short fuse with my students.  They deserve the best that I can deliver.  In order to be the best me tomorrow with my students, it is wise for me to allow space to unwind i n the evenings and release the stress of the day.  I have to give myself permission to rest. Laundry needs to be done, but I give myself permission to do it later.  Ultimately, I am human and realize this evening that I need rest for my body and mind. I will attempt to again give it my all tomorrow. I am resting and waiting on my much needed refreshing.

3 thoughts on “Rest and Refresh

Leave a Reply

